USA
Questions of the Board competence

Russian Prime Minister Dmitry Medvedev at a meeting at the Baltic Shipyard on November 28 in St. Petersburg announced his intention to extend the construction of a series of icebreakers of the project 22220 (“Arctic”).

The Arctic region includes the Northern margins of the continents Eurasia and North America, the Arctic ocean with Islands, and adjacent parts of the Atlantic and Pacific oceans. The Arctic border on land coincides with the southern border of the tundra zone and with the July isotherm of 10°C (5°C - at sea). The total area is about 27 million km2. Sometimes the southern border of the region is taken by the Arctic circle (in this case, the area is 21 million km2).

Today, August 3, the crews of two anti-submarine aircraft Il-38 airbase Association of the air force and air defense of the Northern fleet performed a planned flight to obtain information about the ice situation in the Barents sea and the Arctic ocean.

The participants of the ninth Chinese Arctic scientific expedition on Friday on Board the research vessel "Xuelong" will go from Shanghai to the North pole. This became known at a press conference of the Chinese center for polar research.

The government of the Russian Federation has submitted to the State Duma a bill aimed at developing cruise tourism in the Arctic and the Far East, follows from the database of the lower house of parliament.

Вопросы компетенции Совета

Арктический регион включает в себя северные окраины материков Евразия и Северная Америка, Северный Ледовитый океан с островами, а также прилегающие части Атлантического и Тихого океанов. Граница Арктики на суше совпадает с южной границей зоны тундры и с июльской изотермой 10°С (5°С - на море). Общая площадь - около 27 млн км2. Иногда за южную границу региона принимают Северный полярный круг (в этом случае площадь составляет 21 млн км2).

Сегодня, 3 августа, экипажи двух противолодочных самолетов Ил-38 авиабазы объединения ВВС и ПВО Северного флота выполнили плановый полет для получения информации о ледовой обстановке в Баренцевом море и Северном Ледовитом океане.

Участники девятой китайской арктической научной экспедиции в пятницу на борту исследовательского судна "Сюэлун" отправятся из Шанхая к Северному полюсу. Об этом стало известно на пресс-конференции Китайского центра полярных исследований.

Правительство РФ внесло в Госдуму законопроект, направленный на развитие круизного туризма в Арктике и на Дальнем Востоке, следует из базы данных нижней палаты парламента.

Появление в распоряжении России перспективных ледоколов обуславливает необходимость создания новых судов.