At the end in Kiruna ministerial meeting - members of the Arctic Council summed up the results of two years of the Swedish presidency of the organization. The title of chairman moved to Canada. On the outcome of the meeting, "The Voice of Russia," said the representative of the Russian Federation in the Arctic Council, the special envoy Anton Vasilyev.

Ministers of the five Nordic countries, the United States, Canada and Russia have reached a consensus on granting observer status to the AU China, Japan, Korea, Singapore, India and Italy. The Arctic Council granted observer status to China, India, Italy, Japan, the Republic of Korea and Singapore. The EU is in such status was denied: Canada has blocked an application that has disagreements with the EU mammal hunting in the Arctic.