Wednesday, 13 January 2021 14:16

Ministry for Development of the Far East and the Arctic proposes expanding Arctic zone

Written by 
Rate this item
(0 votes)

The Ministry for Development of the Far East and the Arctic has proposed expanding land boundaries of the Arctic zone by incorporating territories in the Arkhangelsk Region, Karelia, Komi and the Krasnoyarsk Territory.

Territories proposed for incorporation into the Arctic zone:

· Arkhangelsk Region: the municipal districts of Leshukonskoye and Pinezhsky;

· Karelia:  Kalevala ethnic municipal district, Kostomuksha city district, Segezha municipal district;

· Komi: the city districts of Inta, Usinsk, Ust-Tsilma municipal district;

· Krasnoyarsk Territory: the villages of Surinda, Tura, Nidym, Uchami, Tutonchany, Yessei, Chirinda, Ekonda, Kislokan, Yukta and Evenki municipal district.

Arctic zone residents are eligible for tax concessions, partial rebate of social and pension insurance contributions and mineral resources extraction tax rebate in the amount equal to the funds they have invested in infrastructure. Other statutory support measures include developing and protecting the economic activities of the small indigenous groups living in the Arctic.

The Arctic zone currently covers nine Russian regions. It fully includes the Chukotka Autonomous Area, the Yamal-Nenets Autonomous Area, the Nenets Autonomous Area and the Murmansk Region, as well as 45 municipal entities in the Republic of Karelia, the Republic of Komi, the Arkhangelsk Region, the Krasnoyarsk Territory and the Republic of Sakha (Yakutia).



Read 6 times
Login to post comments